Building a Cat Room

Our cat chat area to relax and to introduce yourself.

Building a Cat Room

Postby Isabelly2000 » Sun Jun 29, 2008 7:29 am

I live in the suburbs with reasonable size yards and there are hawks and coyotes in the area.
My troops total 30 and I plan to build a cat room with a private yard to keep them safe while they can also go our for sunning and playing.

Any suggestions of what the ideal set up would be (linoleum flooring, big windows, heat/air)?
I intend to have things like cat trees and lots of comfy laying pads.
Also, of course running water, medicine and food cabinets, etc.

What I am looking for is ideas of how to keep the cats entertained and socialized.
Most importantly, what not to do.

Is there any literature/magazines on this subject?

Isabelly
Isabelly2000
New Born

Re: Building a Cat Room

Postby Top Cat » Sun Jun 29, 2008 11:16 am

Hi Isabelly2000, welcome to the forum. I've never done a cat room or anything before but I will give the internet a good scan later to see if I can find any ideas for you.

So what's your plan anyway? Are you converting a room that is currently in your house so all the cats can go in it? And then make a hole in the wall somewhere so they can go into a section of the yard but in a caged area of some sort so those coyotes etc can't get to them? I'm just trying to get a picture in my head of what the layout/size is going to be. Got any pictures you can take to show us what room you're thinking of converting etc? (If you're converting a room and not building one from stratch)

Even if you supply the above, I probably still won't be able to help, but even if I don't find some ideas on the net I'm sure some of the other guys will chip in some ideas of what you could possibly try.
Top Cat || Forum Admin

Proverbs/Sayings
- "In a cat's eye, all things belong to cats"
- "Beware of people who dislike cats."
- "The cat who frightens the mice away is as good as the cat who eats them"